Build Your Network, Build Your Future

rstarrphoto_leatshirt 10
OCC Fashion Student Lea-Theres Heidgen Collaborating with Z Supply for their #everydayeveryone Campaign

We all know education in your future field of work is a necessity, but if you are thinking of emerging into the fashion industry, having industry contacts is just as important for a successful path!

When joining the Fashion Merchandising program in Spring 2015, I quickly learned how well connected the OCC Fashion Department is. During my time as a student, there have been countless industry guest speakers, organized field trips, and of course the instructors, who have worked for some of the biggest companies in the industry around the globe. The networking opportunities are endless; something that you won’t find at every college!

Thanks to the OCC fashion program I was introduced to the Southern California brand Z Supply. A brand that I hadn’t heard about until guest speaker Holly Armour (Social Media Manager at the time) came into class to tell us about her journey after graduating from OCC. Promptly after her visit I started to follow, and love the brand, would buy their product and eventually got sought out by current Social Media Manager Heather for a collaboration. A major success, considering that I had just launched my blog and started to get invested in presenting myself as a brand online. I got the chance to create content for the brand, which was not only shared on their Instagram feed and story, but also on the brand’s blog. Something that made me even more excited about Z Supply is the opportunity to be able to take part in their “good cause” campaigns like the recent #everydayeveryone campaign; a campaign that brings awareness to human trafficking and supports a non-profit organization. This upcoming month I will participate in Z Supply’s breast cancer awareness campaign and from here on out, I will hopefully continue to be on their roster of micro influencers, as Z Supply is a brand that I truly love and am excited to share with my followers.

Thanks to OCC I was able to build an incredible industry relationship and to expand my professional network for times to come; truly something invaluable when it comes to my future in the fashion industry.

You can do the same. The Spring semester and new opportunities are right around the corner! A great place to start meeting people is in FASH 115: Intro to Fashion Industry.

Follow Lea at @lea_theres

– Lea Heidgen

 

Leave a comment